taoCMS™ Demo Site: Home


The North Dakota County Commissioners Association

ND County Courthouseswas established in 1905. As the form of government closest to the people, counties offer a unique perspective that makes them critical players in decisions affecting their citizens. The North Dakota County Commissioners Association serves as the counties' advocate before all branches of state government. It acts on legislative issues and lobbies on behalf of North Dakota's 223 county commissioners, serving 53 counties.

County Commissioners from across the state do a tremendous job helping and supporting each other. For most, their first thought when confronting a new challenge is to call on other commissioners to find out who has been in the same situation and find out how they handled it.

On this site, you'll find a handy "phone book" (which is being updated with new listings as the information becomes available) and many other resources to help you.

Meet your 2018-2019 Board of Directors

Click the Board tab above to see photos and contact information for each board member.

At the October 2018 NDCCA Annual Meeting, the following Board of Directors were seated:

Board terms are for two years.

  • President: Reinhard Hauck (Dunn)
  • Vice President: David Montgomery (Williams)
  • Treasurer: Perry Turner (McIntosh)
  • Past President: Bruce Strinden (Morton)

Board Members:

  • Charlie Adams (Bottineau)
  • Karen Anderson (Walsh)
  • Chad Peterson (Cass)
  • Nick Rutherford (Pembina)
  • Cody Schulz (Morton)

Ex-Officio Members:

  • National Association of Counties representative: Daryl Dukart (Dunn)
  • Western Interstate Region Board representative: Scott Ouradnik (Slope)
  • Secretary: Terry Traynor, Executive Director


Boards of commissioners in every county are eligible for membership in the Association. Collectively, through the NDCCA, they strive to preserve the authority and responsibilities granted to county government to best meet the needs of their citizens.

County commissioners serve as the elected ruling body of the county government structure. Commission boards are made up of 3 or 5 members, and typically meet once to twice a month as determined by the commission. Commissioners in North Dakota can be elected at-large or in commissioner districts, depending upon the county.

Download the Standing Committee Request Form here